Another Excursion…

There really isn’t that much that you can do while off for the summer if you want to keep things cheap and have a girlfriend already in Taiwan, so I find myself hiking and running a lot.

This first photo is my favorite not really because of anything special with the photo itself – but because I rarely get good shots of birds.  Still only owning the 18-55 mm kit lens is usually not a problem and quite honestly, I have no real reason to go buy a new lens just yet.  Unless, of course, I’m trying to shoot birds which always seem to fly away.  Then I want to rush to the nearest Wolf Camera and but the first $500 telephoto lens I see.

Anyway, here’s the first.  Later research told me that it’s a Yellow-crowned Night Heron.

This second photos is the same heron – I could tell that the only reason I got so close was because he was irritated at me – I’m guessing a nest could have been nearby?

And for some more… starting with yet another flower:

The last two photos came from me experimenting with a shot that had what I saw as some HDR potential at least if I took the original RAW file and lightened up the dark areas.  I never went for it because I’d like to buy Photomatix first… that’ll come later.

Any thoughts on which you prefer? Color? B&W?  Leave comments.  They make me happy.

Note on the blog: I’ll definitely keep doing this if I keep traffic alone as an indicator of success.  I’ve almost doubled traffic each month since starting in April – so thanks, all!

8 Comments

Filed under photos

8 responses to “Another Excursion…

  1. Lulu

    Hi Joshua
    as always- great photos!
    for the last two photos- I like the color one; it looks more cheerful somehow. Good shot of the first picture!
    By the way, I miss hiking:-( the last time I did hiking was,hmm, 2008 with my Austrian friend.
    Keep on posting great photos! they motivate me to learn more about photography
    Happy weekend

    • Thanks!

      So you live in Indonesia near mountains and you don’t hike? Tsk tsk! I’d be out every day :)

      Actually, I didn’t really start hiking much again until the summer started. Then I realized that I was missing out on some great trails here near Houston and will have to leave them for Taiwan – but I think I’ll survive :)

      • Lulu

        Well, there is always something new to be found in a new place. Even though you might be familiar with Taiwan already. I am pretty sure you have new great things to explore
        I am sure you’ll survive!:-)

  2. Tes

    Thanks for Lulu, I found your site! This is really inspire me to learn photogarphy. I’ve been thinking of learning photography and food styling from home, but don’t know where to start. I have to come back here and check for the beautiful pictures often! Thanks for sharing and thanks for stopping by Homewarming blog.
    P.S. I hope you don’t mind me puting your blog in my blogroll. Thank you!

  3. I won’t mind at all – and will do the same for you! Thanks!

    In all honesty, I’m just starting to learn the basics of photography, but thanks for your kind comments!

    I found this article good for food: http://digital-photography-school.com/food-photography-an-introduction

    It’s mostly for people with DSLR cameras, but I’m sure it can be used for point-and-shoot cameras as well.

    Thanks again for visiting!

  4. You commented on my blog once awhile back and I finally got to looking at yours. You have some INCREDIBLY photos here. I really love them. As for your question, I prefer the color to the B&W, usually I would say the other way around, I am quite partial to B&W, but with this photo, the blue really makes a difference, I think…

    I hope you’re loving Taiwan.

    • Thanks for the comments!

      I’m actually not going to be in Taiwan until a month from now. I still have yet to make the move – once I am, I’ll definitely be posting a lot here!

  5. Pingback: Birding in Taiwan « joshintaiwan.com

Leave a Reply

