Chiang Kai-shek Memorial Hall (國立中正紀念堂) (Taipei Post 5)

The last day of Taipei was spent going to one of the main cultural and political sites of the city, Chiang Kai-shek Memorial Hall.  I had half-expected Falun Gong protesters as with Taipei 101 and pro-Tibet people as at the National Palace Museum, but I wonder if the revered sanctity of this place for Taiwanese keeps that from happening.  Part of the experience is seeing a changing of the guard ceremony, much like we have in the US at Washington DC’s Tomb of the Unknown Soldier.

Some HDR is mixed in with the following.  Click on each for a full-sized photo through Flickr.

(Notice the sweat on the guard’s face – the weather was pushing 100 degrees F/38 C)

…and an HDR to finish things off.

5 Comments

Filed under photos, taipei, taiwan2010

5 responses to “Chiang Kai-shek Memorial Hall (國立中正紀念堂) (Taipei Post 5)

  1. Your exposure is amazing!! How did you get that kind of light? Did you play with the shutter speed or the aperture?! I lived there for more than half of my life yet i never taken picture this amazing!

  2. Thanks, Stephan! Some of these actually use three exposures – if you click on the photo, it will tell you in Flickr that it is HDR. In that case, I used three separate EVs (“exposure values”) to make a high dynamic range (HDR) image.

    When I set my aperture, which I sometimes do manually – especially for HDR photos – I usually see what the camera suggests in auto mode first. From there, I tweak it by one or two f-stops.

    As for shutter speed, I rarely change that around – only if I’m purposely trying to change how the exposure sees a subject… I need to learn more about it before I play with it too much :)

  3. Tes

    These pictures are so stunning. I used to study about Chiand Kai Shek in my elementary school, it’s good to see the clear picture of this place.

  4. Nice shots! I took mine last year using only old point and shoot camera… wishing to buy a new one and take all the places once again before I leave the place in 2 months time (tentative). Have a great day!

  5. Pingback: Taipei 101 near Sun Yat Sen Memorial « joshintaiwan.com

Leave a Reply

