Near Taichung

These photos come from a trip just outside of Taichung at two botanical garden areas that I don’t remember the name… or location of… but can tell you they were in the mountains and quite beautiful.  The day itself was pretty exhausting – it consisted of leaving Jhubei early in the AM on Friday the 20th of August and arriving in the Taichung area by about 8:45am.  The first stop was a botanical garden which was highly maintained and kind of sold as a relaxation for Taiwanese from the hustle and bustle of city life.  The second location, which lacks some pictures here (as I was pretty exhausted) was a harrowing drive through one-way roads in the mountains in search of some lavender fields.  We found them… and they were beautiful.  Photos of both locations are mixed into this post:

The above photo was kind of an opportunity shot and I’m glad I got it.  A girl was blowing bubbles on the way out of the first garden, and I had my 70-300mm lens after shooting (…pictures of!) some ducks in the pond.  I liked how the bokeh turned out on this, and even more, it made me realize my 70-300 lens was a good investment as the autofocus was nice and fast – not to mention accurate.

This HDR shows a “castle” located in the center of the park.  Like I said, this was the place for Taiwanese to relax… escape.  No attractions, sales (minus a restaurant), or amusement park rides.  Apparently, this requires a faux European castle!  I have to admit – it was somewhat tasteful and added to the presence of the place.

I like the depth-of-field on the photo above.  You’ll obviously notice the fish as well – both the fish and ducks were used to, and probably dependent on, people.  The water is clear enough and the fish are “trained” to the point that they followed us… Yuling extended her hand (with nothing in it) and their mouths were gaping open, ready to eat…

Gotta love the chemical-fused water :)

There were gardeners all over – my $250 NT entrance fee (about $7.80 USD) seems to be well used!

The above photo shows some of these wish/prayer cards that our second stop, the lavender fields, gave to visitors.  The whole operation – which I honestly don’t have many photos of here – was quite a successful draw for many people.  Their marketing was full of cute (and sometimes expensive) ways to participate in the “cottage” atmosphere and was a little bit more direct than the first garden.  Oh, and it was in the middle of nowhere… really.

8 Comments

Filed under outdoors, photos, taichung, taiwan2010

8 responses to “Near Taichung

  1. Just lovely. I really like the image of the wish cards and the gardener in particular. Thank you for sharing them
    http://mentalscrapbook.wordpress.com

  2. I really like all these shots, but the firat one is amazing in my book! That’s just an incredible capture.

  3. Thanks to both of you! I’ll be sure to check out your blogs.

  4. Joshua,

    Your photos are absolutely amazing! They are breathtaking and inspire me very much! I am currently using a cheap shoot and point camera a friend gave me but someday I would like to take a photography course and invest into a nice camera. It is so nice to see the beauty of Taiwan through your eyes. It is obvious that you see the world in a unique and beautiful way while valuing the culture you have been blessed to experience. I will be applying to teach english in Japan next year. I am hopeful that I will have a better camera by then!

    Thank you very much for your comment on my blog.

    • Thanks, Judy – your comments are wonderful :)

      I’d honestly recommend the DSLR (Nikons are great!), but I never took photo classes. In my opinion, it’s something you can learn on your own with online resources which will help you with the technical material… your own intuition and looking at as many photos as possible will get you through the artistic side. Of course, if you think you need a class take it by all means – I just think that going out and taking as many photos as possible is the most important thing to do.

  5. Lulu

    whoaa!! I so love the bubble shot!
    amazing!
    the quality of your shots are improving! they are getting more attractive

  6. Incredible! This has to be the best post on the blog… The “macro” photos are breath taking! :)

    • Thanks! The 18-55 kit lens that comes with the D5000 does well with macro shots. It’s what I used.

      For some of these, I did use the Nikkor 70-300mm from a distance – the grashopper and hanging flower come to mind.

Leave a Reply

