Birding in Taiwan

Well, my weather predictions for the weekend go to show that I shouldn’t be a meteorologist.  We had a beautiful day today with temperatures in the mid-80s F and plenty of sun.  I decided to go to the traditional market and, finding that it was starting to shut down for the day, went to the riverside that divides Jhubei from Hsinchu.  I’ve taken pictures here before, even having a second post of shots from the same area.

This time, I decided to venture closer to the river itself.  I found a trail used by fishermen who park their scooters nearby and bring waders with them to go fly-fishing.  I set up on a rock that worked as a seat and managed to get a glimpse at a few egrets, which are common in rivers and rice fields here in Taiwan.  I watched this egret get used to me staring at it with the 70-300mm lens and waited for it to get comfortable.  Then it started fishing and gave me a good show:

It would dart back up the rock from time to time – and I’m not sure why.  At least once, it gave me a good display of plumage.  You’ll want to click on this to see it full-size:

In addition to the egret, I was treated to a black-crowned night heron.  I’ve actually seen these in Texas before (as well as egrets) and even previously posted a photo of one.  Of course, that was before getting my nice 70-300mm glass, so I was relying on the fact that the previous bird was probably defending a nearby nest as it was squawking furiously at me.  This one was wasn’t so interested, and didn’t hang around for long.  On the other hand, the egrets were there before and after I had left.

The last shot is actually the first bird I saw today, a Taiwan Bush-Warbler:

4 Comments

Filed under taiwan2010

4 responses to “Birding in Taiwan

  1. Great job! I love the back lighting in the first photo, but they’re all great!

    • Thanks! The sun was high in the sky as it was around noon, so I was fortunate in that regard. Some of the photos had some shadows lightened – especially the night heron. I couldn’t decide if I wanted to go for the outline of the shadow or try to keep the details of the bird intact.

  2. Those darker colored herons can be so hard to shoot. I’ve taken a few shots of herons here in New England and they are so well camouflaged that I’ve struggled to get anything as nice as your photo. Here, they tend to hang out in shallow ponds and marshes, which are usually loaded with vegetation that makes the birds blend right in. Good for the herons, but challenging for photographers! I’ll have to go back and post my one or two good heron shots, but trying to get a nice picture like yours has made me rethink my gear. (I was using a 70-200mm and I just didn’t have quite enough reach) Keep up the good work …. anyone who can shoot birds has my humble respect …. it’s not easy!

  3. Pingback: Vanishing Point « joshintaiwan.com

Leave a Reply

