More Herons

I see these birds everywhere here in Taiwan.  I’m guessing the mix of flowing, fish-filled rivers along with so many patches of rice fields makes it a good environment for birds here, but sometimes I wish I saw more than the normal herons and egrets.

The first is a long-neck grey heron with what looks like a juvenile next to it – this was moments before they became irritated with me and left.  If you are better at identifying birds, correct me on this one – I’m not super familiar with these long-necked herons.

This next night heron was a “city bird” in that it wasn’t too afraid of me – letting me get closer with the 300mm:

1 Comment

Filed under taiwan2010

One response to “More Herons

  1. Nice shots! I like the vividness of the blue.

Leave a Reply

