2010 in review

NOTE: This is a “canned post” by WordPress regarding some interesting stats.  Thought I would post as I’m going to be seeing how I can help this blog keep growing in the new year.

—–

The stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com mulled over how this blog did in 2010, and here’s a high level summary of its overall blog health:

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow.

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

A Boeing 747-400 passenger jet can hold 416 passengers. This blog was viewed about 9,000 times in 2010. That’s about 22 full 747s.

In 2010, there were 170 new posts, not bad for the first year! There were 37 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 19mb. That’s about 3 pictures per month.

The busiest day of the year was November 17th with 932 views. The most popular post that day was More from Hsinchu Zoo.

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were facebook.com, wordpress.com, stumbleupon.com, taiwanblogs.blogspot.com, and reddit.com.

Some visitors came searching, mostly for joshintaiwan, joshintaiwan.com, pien hou temple, shida night market, and josh in taiwan.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

More from Hsinchu Zoo November 2010
35 comments and 20 Likes on WordPress.com

2

Cosplay in Hsinchu December 2010
4 comments and 1 Like on WordPress.com,

3

About April 2010

4

In Houston: Teo Chew Temple May 2010
6 comments

5

Wellington Free Congregational Church April 2010

5 Comments

Filed under blogs

5 responses to “2010 in review

  1. My blog grew the most this year, I had around 209.000 visits and 468.000 page views, nearly quadrupled my traffic. That’s because of my Taiwan posts and Taiwanese readers. If you translate some of your popular posts in Traditional Chinese, that may help a lot, Taiwanese really love to read blogs. I’m definitely gonna translate more of my posts to Chinese next year, but I’m not sure if I can repeat this successful blog year.

    Wish you good luck for 2011.

  2. Lulu

    congrats!
    The readers keep growing! nice to know

  3. With photos like your New Year concert shots I’m sure it’ll boost the numbers! And for a first-year blog that’s great too, it just takes time and maybe a bit of luck if you get linked to from a bigger site. Good stuff!

    • Thanks! I certainly had no complaints over this years’ numbers. I’ve gotten some links, like from the “freshly pressed” section, and my traffic is at about the 30-50 hits/daily range now – only growing, which is great.

Leave a Reply

