Water, Water

These water machines made an interesting subject the other day while I was out walking.  They’re kind of like gas pumps, but for drinking water.  Potable water doesn’t come out of many taps in Asia, so people rely on bottled water (which is very cheap and comes in large amounts) or taps and machines like these which exist for drinking, cleaning, and cooking.

You CAN use tap water to wash dishes and probably would be fine if it were boiled, but I don’t take too many chances, though I’m not convinced I would be wiped out if I forgot to do any of the above :)

4 Comments

Filed under taiwan2010

4 responses to “Water, Water

  1. I love blogs, I learn so many interesting things. thanks for sharing. -Kim

  2. My friend unknowingly filled up his gas tank with one of these. No joke.

    • That could be a big problem. I once heard of someone filling up a gas can with water because their lawnmower gasoline was being stolen. Their neighbor’s van had to be towed away.

Leave a Reply

