Old Man in Jhubei

Not much to say about this one – just something to keep in mind as the weather turns sour wherever you may be living.  We’re enjoying unseasonably warm/sunny weather in Taiwan, but I know that’s not the case in the US.

I’m all for showing “how it is” when using photography as a medium, but it’s hard to know what to do with abject poverty.  Am I taking advantage of it for my portfolio?  Am I educating people about it?  Is that education doing any good?  So much to ask.  Matt Brandon recently had a discussion like this on the ProPhoto blog after it was mentioned by a reader.  Check that out.

If anything, it’s something to keep in mind the next time I whine about not owning a D3 or f/2.8 zoom lens.

6 Comments

Filed under taiwan2010

6 responses to “Old Man in Jhubei

  1. Good shot and really enjoyed the discussion following that link. The line between trophy hunter and someone who takes pictures of people is kind of muddy. Guess a lot of it comes from the intentionality of the photographer towards their subject.

    • I’m thinking in that sense – that it depends on one’s intentions. For me, it means not only respecting, but educating myself about the culture. This is easy with a Taiwanese fiancee, but still important to think about.

      At the same time, I’m the type of person who will freeze and cease to be productive if I think about it TOO much – decisions, decisions…

  2. Lulu

    Love this shot! but it’s kinda sad to see this man, hmm don’t know why

  3. odeegulmatico

    clicked on the link as well. i’m new to this hobby and i shoot less people ’cause i personally think i suck at it. but knowing myself as having the tendency to be an airhead, i’m pretty sure i’d be a self-backslapping bitch in the future should i have an opportunity to photograph a “wrinkled old man”. thanks to the discussion on the link above, i’ve learned one lesson to keep in mind.

    your photos are amazing and they make me think that life is interesting in Taiwan. wish i could go there someday. :)

    • Thanks for your last comment – Taiwan is pretty wonderful.

      As for the link, it’s something I feel like I need to be conscious of and ignore at the same time. I need to keep it in mind as far as to what my intentions are as a photographer. At the same time, I need to not be too timid – and that’s something I’d recommend.

      Thanks for visiting!

      • i read your ABOUT page, there’s no way to comment there so i’ll just say it here shall i? is it true that you just got into photography last April 2010? ‘Cause your photos look like a pro! i started about the same time you do and my shots are still far from being recognized^_^ kudos!

Leave a Reply

