F.I.R. (飛兒樂團) in Jhubei (竹北市)

On February 16th, Jhubei City celebrated its Lantern Festival, the traditional ending to Chinese New Year’s.  This is growing as a night in Taiwan and they even included one of Taiwan’s top bands on a Wednesday night.

I’ll start with a music video.  Their style was more pop/rock that I’d seen before, with a very passionate female lead singer.  I was pretty impressed, though she made it hard to capture her without a f/2.8 telephoto lens.  I still managed to get shots of all three band members, which apparently included lead singer Faye (飛兒), guitarist Real (阿沁), and keyboardist (keyTUIRIST?!) Ian.

I’d have to say I enjoy concert photography.  It’s challenging, but worth the effort once you get a nicely lit shot that is sharp and full of action. The best part? Minimal post-processing if your white balance wasn’t acting strangely.  I leveled all of these colors-wise and the only change I made was to the first photo – to remove a woman backstage who was taking iPhone pictures/video.

6 Comments

Filed under taiwan2010

6 responses to “F.I.R. (飛兒樂團) in Jhubei (竹北市)

  1. great shots, especially that most have not gone into postprocessing! i suck at portraits, ouch!:-(

    i like taiwanese men hairstyles, specially celebrities, i find them funky and experimental.^_^

    • Thanks – these did go through postprocessing, they just don’t require much work. I don’t denoise anything and usually just tweak some colors, sharpening, and cropping.

      The styles are interesting – nothing I’ll be taking up any time soon :)

  2. woo beautiful photos were you in the front row? I love their songs too

  3. 余傑

    thanks for sharing~~
    i’m their fans!!!
    the photos are so nice!!

Leave a Reply

