Spring Scream: Samurai Attack (SA)

Samurai Attack, or SA, is a Japanese “Oi”-style punk band that formed in the 80’s and still tours extensively today. I had a chance to see them warming up and dropped into their show about halfway through. Though I couldn’t stay long, I got some of my favorite shots with the 35mm f/1.8 and attached an SB-600 to a cable to use sparingly as strobes were going all over the place anyway.

Video first, then photos below.

The personality of the lead singer helped me take one of my favorite concert images ever as he hoisted the mic above the audience to help them take part in the music. The black and white works well for punk bands, and it makes the noise from the high ISO almost acceptable!

   

Both of the above were taken with the 35mm. As you can imagine, I had great access to the stage and still managed to keep away from the mosh pit! I doubt my camera would like that experience…

The crowd was much larger/thicker than is seen here. While it’s great to show the crowd’s response, it’s sometimes hard without the right angle on the shot or a wide-angle lens.

1 Comment

Filed under taiwan2010

One response to “Spring Scream: Samurai Attack (SA)

  1. Pingback: Ten Shots from 2011 | joshintaiwan.com

Leave a Reply

