One Year! (A rare double-post)

I’ve decided to make a rare second post today because I just realized that this blog has been online for a year. While the very beginning of Joshintaiwan.com had me wondering what exactly to do with this space, I have turned this into a photo blog that has been pretty successful and a lot of fun.

I first started this thinking I would be photographing Taiwan at a pretty leisurely pace. However, as Summer 2010 crept in and I had nothing to do since I had so much time off, I decided to learn photography. And I jumped in headfirst.

In addition to the blog being around for a year, I’ve hit another milestone: 15,000 hits. I’ve come a long way from hoping to get 20 per day and am very happy with this site’s growth. You won’t see any ads anytime soon because they’re just not profitable enough and I like this space to be ad-free.

If you have any opinions/thoughts, let me know. Don’t like the WordPress theme? Writing style? How badly I smell? Or do you think this blog is great? Leave it in the comments. Or not. Regardless, I’m having a bit of fun with this site and it’s a great way to connect with friends and family back home.

One fascinating part of this journey has been connecting with people from all over the world. This map, provided by Statcounter.com, shows where users are from. Note that any important information isn’t stored with me – I just get an indication of general locations.

There you are! All 6 continents, if we are to include random hits from Egypt and the occasional South Africa. This data is only a collection of the past 50 or so hits, so there are more, but this gives a good approximation for averages.

With that, I’d like to thank any regular readers. Whether it’s Niko, Odee, Tes, jfn2d (not sure I ever caught his real name!), Lulu, Mac or anyone else who frequents this blog that I forgot, thank you! This blog has a lot to do with Taiwan and I certainly draw in Taiwanese, but I’m amazed at the cultures I’ve encountered through this site for the first time.

With all of this said, I’ll be changing a few things. I’ve decided to go from posting M-F to posting M/W/F. This will help me improve the writing part of this blog and hopefully give me time to organize photos in a way that tells stories. If you have any other ideas, please share them. And thanks for visiting/reading/viewing!

14 Comments

Filed under taiwan2010

14 responses to “One Year! (A rare double-post)

  1. LS

    Hey. I came across your blog last fall, when I was preparing for my first trip to Taiwan (I actually stayed in Jhubei with a friend from grad school). Your photos are awesome, so I’ve been following since then. Keep up the good work!

    • A lurker! Thanks for commenting and I’m glad you enjoyed the site.

      I’ve gotta say I like the night market post – I don’t often describe them much aside from photos.

      • LS

        Haha, the mysterious Statcounter dot over Austin had to reveal itself at some point. And thanks about my night market post! Hopefully, I’ll visit again in 2012. But until then, I’m enjoying seeing it all again through your blog.

  2. Your pictures are terrific. You are great at the art of picture taking. I look forward to viewing your posts, no matter how little time I may have, or what venue from which I have to view them. Thanks and congratulations on your 1 year blog anniversary!

  3. Happy Blog Birthday!I’ve enjoyed following your blog and seeing Taiwan again through your amazing photos. Thanks for sharing. :)

  4. hey Josh, congratulations. look forward to your photos always. Keep them coming.

    • Thanks, Ashish – I have to admit I’ve been missing out on some of your Flickr images because my contact list is too full. Thanks for the comment – it means a lot.

  5. Yuling

    Congratulations!!

    I do have two comments for you!

    1. Why I am not on your “thank you list”?

    2. How badly you smell?…yeah… please do something to fix it, pls…lol

  6. Congrats on reaching one year! I thoroughly enjoyed reading your blog and am looking forward to more beautiful pictures in year 2 ;)

  7. Joshua

    I’m a recent arrival to your blog, but I’ve enjoyed getting a glimpse of Taiwan through your lens.

    Happy First Birthday!

    john

Leave a Reply

