Durians Everywhere

Maybe not everywhere, but you get the idea. These have an ubiquitous smell in Taiwan (or any other south Asian country) – much like stinky tofu somehow. Their pungent fruity smell (hard to explain how that connects) is hard to mistake. I have to say that I haven’t tried them, but am willing – just to get the experience checked off in life. I’ve eaten stinky tofu before, so I think I’ll survive.

These were seen in a fruit stand near the Hsinchu Temple Market. I moved in for the picture since I had the 35mm attached, but soon wished I had a telephoto lens for these babies – as there was a pile of cut ones and a woman taking out the meat right next to them.

6 Comments

Filed under taiwan2010

6 responses to “Durians Everywhere

  1. Josh, lovely picture. Give them a try, they are delicious. If the smell is deterring you, put them in the freezer and eat frozen, cuts down the smell. Creamy like a really rich ice-cream. Yum!

  2. Lulu

    have to say that I haven’t tried them, but am willing – just to get the experience checked off in life. I’ve eaten stinky tofu before, so I think I’ll survive.
    I like your line!!
    I love Durians hehe, but they are expensive, and gone within seconds, so only once in a while I buy it! in fact I wonder when the last time I bought it this year???
    nice shot!! aoucch

    • Yes! Even if it seems painful, I figure I’d probably better do it before I leave Taiwan. I try as many foods that seem ‘gross’ to Westerners as I can.

  3. Great Picture! All your photographs are really special. I live about as far from Taiwan as possible (suburban Texas) but we can get fresh durian at the local market. I like durian ice cream, but haven’t been able to eat too much of it straight. Maybe I’ll give it another try – it sure looks great on your blog.

    Keep up the great work.

    • Thanks for the comment! I actually lived in suburban Texas once – around Houston to be more precise. I would go to Chinatown with my then-girlfriend (now fiancee) who is Taiwanese and saw them. Rather smelly for a fruit!

Leave a Reply

