Visit to 古奇峰 (Guqifeng), Hsinchu

Guqifeng, which translates to “ancient peaks,” is sort of hard to describe. Its most obvious mark is a huge statue of Guang Gong, the god of war. In addition, a statue garden and museum are also on the grounds and provide viewers a sometimes fascinating and sometimes – somewhat strange – view of various statues, historical artifacts, and religious symbols.

Starting off is the Guang Gong statue, easily seen throughout the mountaintop area:

This shrine of the Hindu god Brahma in the Thai style was interesting, especially after I visited Bangkok’s Erawan Shrine last summer. I saw these in a few other temples in the area, indicating that the deity is popular locally.

One of the interesting parts about Guqifeng is the large collection of statues from around the world. Here’s a copy of one of the famed Terra Cotta warriors, something that wasn’t too out of place…

…and some statues of who I think is Guan Yin. Two copies with awkward smiles…

…and a Buddha in the woods also made sense…

…but once I saw Beethoven’s bust and some other European items, I knew there would be quite a bit of diversity with the selection…

…and then a mythical beast of some sorts? I have been in Taiwan long enough to have never recognized this in Chinese mythology/religion. I have no clue what it is.

Some statues weren’t taken care of very well or just fell into disrepair. I guess this can be expected.

At any rate, I had a great time exploring this site. It’s located in a slightly hard to find spot but can be found through Google Maps. In the next few days, I’ll be posting more from another trip – this time to Sanxia, Taipei again.

4 Comments

Filed under taiwan

4 responses to “Visit to 古奇峰 (Guqifeng), Hsinchu

  1. Great shots. I past this place on the way home from karaoke the other morning. Really want to come here and shoot. Thanks for sharing.

    • It’s worth a quick visit on an afternoon. I also have to check out some areas around here since it’s not the only temple. There’s also a nice, free museum which has a pretty awesome Chinese art collection just at the base of the temple. Thanks for the comment!

  2. Great collection, thanks. After seeing that strange “mythical beast,” I’m gonna be lookin’ over my shoulder the next time I take a walk in the woods! : )

  3. Pingback: Lion Dance and Temple Ceremony, Guqifeng (古奇峰), Hsinchu | joshintaiwan.com

Leave a Reply

